Select Page

Maestri del metal più infernale fin dalla loro nascita 25 anni fa, i black/thrasher svedesi WITCHERY stanno per tornare con il loro ottavo album in studio “Nightside”, in uscita il 22 luglio 2022 in tutto il mondo tramite Century Media Records.

L’album è il seguito di “I Am Legion” del 2017 ed è stato registrato dalla lineup formata da Jensen (chitarra, The Haunted / ex-Seance), Rickard Rimfält (chitarra, Seance), Angus Norder (voce, Nekrokraft), Victor Brandt (basso, Dimmu Borgir / ex Entombed A.D.), il quale sostituisce ufficialmente il precedente bassista Sharlee D’Angelo, e Chris Barkensjö (batteria, LIK / ex Kaamos). L’album è stato nuovamente mixato e prodotto da Daniel Bergstrand (Behemoth, In Flames, etc.) mentre l’artwork è stato curato da Andreas “Diaz” Pettersson.

WITCHERY – “Nightside”
1. Witching Hour
2. Don’t Burn the Witch
3. Storm of the Unborn
4. Er steht in Flammen
5. Popecrusher
6. Left Hand March
7. Under the Altar
8. Churchburner
9. Crucifix and Candle
10. A Forest of Burning Coffins
11. Nightside

I WITCHERY presentano inoltre oggi un primo assaggio del nuovo capitolo in studio con il singolo “Popecrusher” accompagnato da un video animato creato da Eduardo Hidalgo e Maciej Pieloch / in collaborazione con E2h Design Studio: 

“Nightside” vede la partecipazione dietro al microfono di Jeff Walker (Carcass, per il brano “A Forest of Burning Coffins”) mentre ai soli troviamo come ospiti Hank Shermann (Mercyful Fate, su “Left Hand March”), Simon Johansson (Wolf, su “Crucifix and Candle”) e Maciek Ofstad (Kvelertak, su “Don’t Burn the Witch”).

“Nightside” sarà pubblicato nei seguenti formati:
Jewelcase CD
180g. vinyl LP (sia in colorazione nera che in colorazione limitata transparent red vinyl in 500x copie tramite CM Distro/Mailorder)
Digital Album


WITCHERY mastermind Jensen commented about “Popecrusher” as follows:
“Setting the benchmark for the new album, “Popecrusher” is the first foreshadowing aural assault from our new album “Nightside”. All the pieces fell into place with this album and we can’t wait for everyone to hear the album in its entirety. “Nightside” is our first attempt at writing a concept album, and “Popecrusher” is of course a part of that story. We hope you love the soul-incinerating heaviness of “Popecrusher” as much as we do. More great things are soon to come. Do the W!”

Explaining about the upcoming “Nightside” album, Jensen added the following:
“I started to write this album without any general direction of idea in mind, but somewhere in the middle of the writing process I remembered that I’ve always wanted to do a concept album, so I decided to give it a shot. Little did I know that writing a concept album puts a lot more pressure on each and every song turning out great. This might seem a norm (and I guess it is in some way) but usually you write 12-14 songs and choose the songs that turned out the best after they’ve been mixed and mastered. Sometimes even what you thought was going to be the first song on the album gets pushed to somewhere else because another track turned out sounding more like an opening track. Also, out of those 12-14 songs you can choose to keep a few a bonus tracks. With a theme album, songs can’t swap places. The story needs to work (no one wants to do a new “The Elder”!), so the opening track really needs to hold up as an opening track etc., thus the extra pressure of “no surprises” after its all recorded. The album tells a story of demonic nightmares, unexplainable pregnancy, witch trails and an escape from the Old Country to the colonies in the west and what happens once the child is born. Guests on this album is, for starters, our permanent guest of honor Hank Shermann, but also guest solos by Maciek Ofstad of Kvelertak and Simon Johansson of Wolf (also the studio owner of SolnaStudio where we recorded the album. We also had the honor of having Jeff Walker of Carcass do guest vocals on the song “A Forest of Burning Coffins”. All in all, we are very happy with how the album turned out and with again thrilled over Daniel Bergstrand’s killer production…”
WITCHERY have also been announced to appear as part of this year’s colossal Hellfest line-up in Clisson, France on Friday, June 24th, 2022. Check here for further details: 

Previously, WITCHERY’s early catalogue has been re-issued by Century Media Records in 2020 on CD, LP and digitally, finally making “Restless & Dead” (1998), “Witchburner” (EP, 1999), “Dead, Hot And Ready” (1999) and “Symphony For The Devil” (2001) available worldwide again. Check here to complete your collection: 

Look out…WITCHERY’s “Nightside” is heavy metal witchcraft at its best. The witching hour has arrived!

Angus Norder – Vocals 
Jensen – Rhythm Guitars
Rickard Rimfält – Rhythm and Solo Guitars
Victor Brandt – Bass Guitar
Chris Barkensjö – Drums 

WITCHERY discography:
Restless & Dead – 1998 (CMR Reissue 2020)    
Witchburner / EP – 1999 (CMR Reissue 2020)
Dead, Hot And Ready – 1999 (CMR Reissue 2020)    
Symphony For The Devil – 2001 (CMR Reissue 2020)    
Don’t Fear The Reaper – 2006    
Witchkrieg – 2010
In His Infernal Majesty’s Service – 2016
I Am Legion – 2017
Nightside – 2022 

WITCHERY online: